Theme: Blue and Green Theme: Blue and Green Theme: Red Theme: Green
Font: IncreaseFont: NormalFont: Decrease
Background: 1 Background: 2 Background: 3 
The Official Website of
Bintulu Development Authority


Sarawak is the largest state in Malaysia. It covers an area of approximately 125,000 sq. km., which is about 37% of the total land area of Malaysia. Sarawak is one of the two Malaysian states on the island of Borneo within Latitudes 0 deg.52' and 4 deg.59' North and Longtitudes 109 deg.32', and 115 deg.40' East. 

With an estimated population of 2.027 million in 1999, Sarawak is divided into 11 administrative divisions, namely Kuching , Sri Aman, Sibu, Sarikei, Miri, Limbang, Kapit, Samarahan, Bintulu, Mukah and Betong Divisions.

The history of Bintulu stretched back to 40,000 years ago with the discovery of relics found in the Great Niah Caves, some 120 km to the North of Bintulu where civilization started. There were also indications of early trade carried out with ancient China.